Tuesday, April 30, 2019

Salt to the Sea ~ Historical Fiction

Salt to the Sea

By Ruta Sepetys

For readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See, Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating—yet unknown—tragedies.

World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety.

Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people—adults and children alike—aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.


♦  "Riveting...powerful...haunting."—The Washington Post
♦ "Compelling for both adult and teenage readers."—New York Times Book Review  


No comments:

Post a Comment

Search our Library

Popular Posts